



# VVDAV MUN SOCIETY



# **MODEL UNITED NATIONS**

Model United Nations, also known as Model UN or MUN, is an educational simulation and/or academic activity in which students can learn about <u>diplomacy</u>, <u>international relations</u>, and the <u>United Nations</u>. MUN involves and teaches participants researching, public speaking, debating, and writing skills, in addition to <u>critical thinking</u>, teamwork, and <u>leadership</u> abilities. It is meant to engage students and allow them to develop deeper understanding into current world issues.

Participants in Model United Nations conferences, known as delegates, are placed in committees and assigned countries to represent, or occasionally other organizations or political figures, where they represent members of that body. They are presented with their assignments in advance, along with a topic or topics that their committee will discuss. Delegates conduct research before conferences and formulate positions that they will then <u>debate</u> with their fellow delegates in the committee, staying true to the actual position of the member they represent. At the end of a conference, the best-performing delegates in each committee, as well as delegations, are sometimes recognized with awards.

# VVDAV MUN SOCIETY

VVDAV MUN society was established in the year 2017, with the efforts of esteemed teachers of the social science department. The aim behind starting this society was to encourage students to take up MUN-ING as an extracurricular activity, for exploring their hidden talents, to understand the nuances of debating and to improve their knowledge of world peace.

This small effort received overwhelming response and support from the students, and since then, there has been no looking back. The society is now a huge success, with an elected Secretariat, consisting of students from classes 11th-12th. The backbone of this society are the teachers, who have helped it to grow to its present potential.

## **THE SECRETARIAT**







- 1. Secretary General Manasi Prabhakaran
- 2. Director General Palak Khatter
- 3. President Stuti Sood
- 4. International Press Board- Head of International Press- Riya Sharma
  - i) Shreya Sharma- Head of Reporters
  - ii) Ipshita Roy-Head of Cartoonists
  - iii) Naman Bajaj- Head of Photographers
  - iv) Avi Mahajan- Head of IT
- 5. Office Bearers-i) Shubhangi Gupta ii) Leena Dogra





# SOCIAL SCIENCE WEEK, 2017 INTRA CLASS MODEL UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE

#### <u>CLASS 9</u> <u>YOUTH PARLIAMENT</u>

Executive Board AGENDA- Women Reservation Bill Speaker-Stuti Sood Deputy Speaker-Tejal Dhingra

Model United Nations, nowadays, by the general trend, have Indian committees. With the aim of shedding light on the functioning of Indian parliament, this committee drew inspiration from the working of Lok Sabha And Rajya Sabha. THE agenda on hand was Women Reservation Bill, a burning topic of debate in India.

This committee saw enthusiastic participation from the young parliamentarians. There were heated debates amongst the members of different political parties. The pros and cons of every aspect of this bill were discussed. The most interesting part of this simulation was the Question Hour or the Zero Hour. At the end, the committee reached a consensus, and the bill was adopted.

Prize Winners-Best Speaker- Rawaani Bhatt(IX) High Commendation-Prachi Oberoi(IX) Special Mention- Gourvi Saluja(IX)

#### CLASS 10

UNITED NATIONS FRAMEWORK CONVENTION ON CLIMATE CHANGE AGENDA- Climate Change with Special Reference to Paris Agreement of 2015 Executive Board Chairperson- Sakshi (XII) Vice Chairperson- Manasi Prabhakaran(X) Director-Palak Khatter(X)

This introspective committee was a part of the Intra-Class MUN organised, as a part of the Social Science week. The participants were largely from class X and were first timers, and were given a proper insight on the MUN procedures, beforehand. The aim of this committee was not only to generate interest about MUNS amongst students, but also to create awareness about the pressing issue of climate change.

It was a day full of deliberations, and fruitful debate. Various issues ranging from global warming-rising sea levels to pollution, were discussed. All the delegates participated with enthusiasm, and were at their diplomatic best. The committee, discussed the agenda at hand elaborately, and then came to a conclusion. An unanimous resolution was passed, making the committee a success.

Prize Winners-Best Delegate-Leena Dogra High Commendation-Ambarish Deb Special Mention-Om Adesh Ghai Verbal Mention-Paramjeet Dagar Ananya Tyagi *'The achievements of an organization are the combined efforts of an individual'* 

-Vince

Lombardi

# **ACHIEVEMENTS** DAV SHRESHTA VIHAR

**Delegation Size - 23** 

- 1. Shreya Sharma-Best reporter with a cash prize of ₹2000
- 2. Tejal Dhingra-Special mention-UNHRC
- 3. Leena Dogra -Special mention-UNHRC
- 4. Shubhangi Gupta-Verbal mention-AIPPM



# THE HERITAGE SCHOOL, VASANT KUNJ

**Delegation Size-13** 

- 1. Shubhangi Gupta-AIPPM-Best Delegate
- 2. Naman Bajaj-Best Photographer
- 3. Alisha Pattanayak-AIPPM-High Commendation
- 4. Sharil Malik-IFJ-High Commendation
- 5. Ashima Jha-UNGA-Special Mention
- 6. S Dhanushya-IFJ-Special Mention
- 7. Shreya Sharma-Verbal Mention

**Special Achievement-**

**Runner up Best School Delegation Trophy** 



# THE AIR FORCE SCHOOL, SUBROTO PARK

**Delegation Size-4** 

- 1. Stuti Sood- High Commendation Women's rights forum
- 2. Manasi Prabhakaran High Commendation Modern journalism forum
- 3. Palak Khatter- Special mention- Modern journalism forum



# SADHU VASVANI INTERNATIONAL GIRLS SCHOOL, SHANTI NIKETAN

**Delegation Size-13** 

- 1. Best Delegate-Sharil Malik
- 2. High Commendation-Shubhangi Gupta
- 3. High Commendation- Rawaani Bhatt
- 4. Special Mention-Alisha Pattanayak
- 5. Special Mention-Shreya Sharma
- 6. Verbal Mention-Tejal Dhingra
- 7. Verbal Mention-Gourvi Popli

**Special Achievement-**

### **Best Delegation Award**



### INDIAN INTERNATIONAL MUN, BAL BHARTI DWARKA

#### **DELEGATION SIZE-26**

- 1. Leena Dogra- ECOSOC- Best Delegate
- 2. Manasi Prabhakaran- DISEC- Best Delegate
- 3. Yakshika- ECOFIN- Best Delegate
- 4. Palak Khatter- Lok Sabha- Verbal Mention
- 5. Naman Bajaj- Best Photographer
- 6. Deep Anand- Best Reporter

**Special Achievement-**

### **Best Delegation Trophy**

